top of page
Search

Samet Binkanat (Cultural Data & Cultural Analytics)

Data has always made human life easier, not just in a cultural sense, even writing the score of a football match is storing data/working using data. Sometimes, when I least expect it, my phone rings ,and I receive an ad call from a number I do not know, which means that I have somehow fallen into the data of the advertiser and the seller. The shopping I have done before, or maybe Starbucks, to which I am connected to the Internet, processes with my phone number, accesses my internet browsing data, I give consent to monitor what I look at and what I do, even if I connect to the internet for free, I actually become a potential customer, that is like the internet is free. it looks like it's not free but it has a counterpart. It becomes data in cultural materials, making it easier for people to research the past or the future. I attribute the collection of cultural data to this, since everything in life today is focused on advertising and sales. Since every nation has its own cultural data, every nation has its own marketing and advertising campaign. Marketing strategies based on cultural data have always been successful. Nike brand's "just do it" ad campaign and Vakıfbank brand's "we are strong together" campaign are the biggest examples of these. American culture has data focused on the person, while Turkish culture has data focused on society. Maybe these will change in the future or they are changing now, we can understand them by looking at cultural data and we can start new rewarded advertising campaigns. Nowadays, if we act without looking at the data, the success of the experiments will be degraded and we will be doing a new job.

12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page